Alcohol-Related Offenses

Alcohol - Related OffensesSugar Land DUI Lawyer

D.W.I. Three letters that can cause profound disruptions in your life... No other misdemeanor charge carries with it the immediate possibility of lengthy driver's license suspensions, yearly license surcharges, travel restrictions, and heightened or canceled insurance coverage. Additionally, no other misdemeanor charge has created such a complex and ever changing body of law for your attorney to master. For these reasons, every accused citizen should seek to be represented by a lawyer who is familiar with the latest developments in DWI law as well as the latest scientific challenges to police officer sobriety testing procedures. Attorneys practicing in this field must understand scientific techniques and how to question the reliability, accuracy, and validity of the State's witnesses.

Common State Alcohol Offense Punishment Ranges:

  • Class C Public Intoxication 0-$500.00 fine
  • Class B DWI 0-180 days in jail
  • Class A DWI 2nd 0-1 year in jail
  • 3rd Degree DWI 3rd 2-10 years in prison
  • 3rd Degree Intoxicated Assault 2-10 years in prison
  • 2nd Degree Intoxicated Manslaughter 2-20 years in prison

DWI Attorney in Sugar Land

Mr. Threadgill, Fort Bend criminal attorney, has had extensive training in the law and science of D.W.I. Like those police officers on the D.W.I. Task Force, Mr. Threadgill has been NHTSA-certified in Standardized Field Sobriety Testing. Thus, he can better detect officer errors on videotape, and better cross-examine officers on field sobriety testing in general. Further, Mr. Threadgill has taken courses in law regarding the mastering of scientific evidence relevant to DWI cases, including the use of the Intoxilyzer 5000 machines used in Texas breath tests. If hired, he will put this training, knowledge, and experience to work for you.

NOTE: If you have recently been arrested for a DWI in Texas, contact an attorney immediately. You have only 15 days from the date of your arrest to contest the possible lengthy suspension of your driver's license. Fighting such a suspension may not only protect your ability to drive, but may also lead to the discovery of very valuable evidence that could assist you in winning your DWI trial.


UPDATE: Effective September 1, 2003: Any person convicted of driving while intoxicated will face a minimum yearly surcharge imposed by the Department of Public Safety of at least $1000.00 for the three years following conviction. Second offenders will face a yearly surcharge of $1500.00, and any person who registers in excess of .16 on a breath test and is convicted will face a $2000.00 surcharge.